STEVE CLARKE has axed Euros keeper David Marshall from his Scotland squad for the forthcoming World Cup qualifiers against Denmark, Moldova and Austria.

The former Celtic netminder played in the Finals of the delayed European competition in June when he faced the Czech Republic in the opening-day 2-0 loss at Hampden, the goalless draw with England at Wembley and the 3-1 defeat against Croatia in Glasgow.

Marshall has been struggling to get game time under Wayne Rooney at Championship side Derby County and that has seen Clarke ditch him to bring in St Johnstone’s Zander Clark and Motherwell’s Liam Kelly to accompany another ex-Celt, Craig Gordon, who is now the nation’s No.1.

Rangers stand-by shotstopper Jon McLaighlin has also been left out as the international gaffer freshens his squad.

Scott McTominay has also missed out, but captain Andy Robertson and Kieran Tierney are both included.

The Manchester United utility star sustained an injury following his side’s 5-1 win in the Premier League opener against Leeds which prevented him from starting in their 1-1 draw at Southampton at the weekend.

The 24-year-old came off the bench in the final stages at St Mary’s, but the issue has ruled him out of international contention.

Robertson – who has signed a new deal with Liverpool to keep him at the club until at least 2026 – suffered ankle ligament damage in a pre-season friendly against Athletic Bilbao, but made a speedy recovery to feature on the Anfield bench for their first two league outings.

Tierney suffered from cramps in his thigh during Arsenal’s 2-0 defeat to Chelsea on Sunday, but has already returned to full training and will be available for selection.

Norwich midfielder Kenny McLean returns to the fold after an injury lay-off which forced him to miss Euro 2020 while uncapped Aberdeen midfielder Lewis Ferguson also makes the cut instead of Sheffield United’s John Fleck.


GOALKEEPERS: Craig Gordon (Hearts), Zander Clark (St Johnstone), Liam Kelly (Motherwell);

DEFENDERS: Stephen O’Donnell (Motherwell), Nathan Patterson (Rangers), Declan Gallagher (Aberdeen), Jack Hendry (KV Oostende), Grant Hanley (Norwich City), Scott McKenna (Nottingham Forest), Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Kieran Tierney (Arsenal), Andy Robertson (Liverpool), Greg Taylor (Celtic);

MIDFIELDERS: Billy Gilmour (Norwich City, on loan from Chelsea), Kenny McLean (Norwich City), Callum McGregor (Celtic), Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), David Turnbull (Celtic), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Lewis Ferguson (Aberdeen);

FORWARDS: Lyndon Dykes (Queens Park Rangers), Che Adams (Southampton), Ryan Christie (Celtic), Ryan Fraser (Newcastle), James Forrest (Celtic) and Kevin Nisbet (Hibs).



About Author


Acclaimed author Alex Gordon wrote the biography of Scotland international legend Denis Law, entitled 'King and Country'. He is a former columnist with World Soccer magazine and Scottish correspondent of respected European journal L'Equipe.

Loading ...