CELTIC skipper Scott Brown won another trophy last night when he was named the PFA Scotland Player of the Year award.

The Hoops midfielder had celebrated earlier in the day following the champions’ 5-0 victory over Rangers to seal the club’s seventh successive title.

Brown, 32, became only the second player to claim the award for a second time, following Hoops legend Henrik Larsson.

His previous success was nine years ago and the recognition from his fellow-professionals is reward for his consistency since Brendan Rodgers arrived at Parkhead in May 2016.

Brown has made 53 appearances for club and country this season, although he retired from Scotland duty before Alex McLeish’s first match in charge last month.

He beat team-mate James Forrest, Hibs midfielder John McGinn and Kilmarnock striker Kris Boyd to the prize.

Kieran Tierney claimed the Young Player award along with goal of the season, but St Mirren’s Jack Ross prevented a Celtic clean sweep by collecting the Manager of the Year prize.

The Scotland international left-back became the first man to win the honour, beating off competition from Aberdeen defender Scott McKenna, Rangers striker forward Alfredo Morelos and St Mirren’s Celtic-bound winger Lewis Morgan.

The 20-year-old also won the Goal of the Year for his remarkable 40-yard strike in the 5-0 League Cup win over Kilmarnock at Parkhead in August.

Neither Brown nor Tierney were present at the awards dinner in Glasgow as they had flown out for a break in Tenerife with their team-mates hours after yesterday triumph over Graeme Murty’s team.

Rodgers missed out on the manager award to Ross, who led St Mirren to the Championship title this season, 18 months after taking over with the club bottom of the division. Kilmarnock’s Steve Clarke and Neil Lennon of Hibs were also on the shortlist.

Lewis Morgan, Ayr striker Lawrence Shankland and Stirling Albion midfielder Darren Smith won the divisional player awards.


2007/08: Aiden McGeady (Celtic)

2008/09: Scott Brown (Celtic)

2009/10: Steven Davis (Rangers)

2010/11: Emilio Izaguirre (Celtic)

2011/12: Charlie Mulgrew (Celtic)

2012/13: Michael Higdon (Motherwell)

2013/14: Kris Commons (Celtic)

2014/15: Stefan Johansen (Celtic)

2015/16: Leigh Griffiths (Celtic)

2016/17: Scott Sincair (Celtic)

2017/18: Scott Brown (Celtic)

Read more Scottish football news from Scotzine …


About Author


Acclaimed author Alex Gordon wrote the biography of Scotland international legend Denis Law, entitled 'King and Country'. He is a former columnist with World Soccer magazine and Scottish correspondent of respected European journal L'Equipe.

Loading ...