PFA SCOTLAND this morning announced the Team of the Year for the four Scottish leagues and these are listed below in full. These teams are selected by the players themselves so give a decent insight into who has had a particularly good season across the four divisions.

All players named in their league’s Team of the Year are to receive a medal at this Sunday’s PFA Scotland Player of the Year Awards Dinner 2017, held in in the Hilton Hotel, Glasgow.

All teams are in a 1980s style 4-3-3 formation, so none of this 4-2-3-1 stuff that guys like Brendan Rodgers are bringing into the Scottish game!

In the Premiership team the Glasgow and Aberdeen dominate with Champions Celtic having six players in the fictional starting line-up and the Dons chipping in with four starters. The remaining place goes to Celtic’s Glasgow rivals Patrick Thistle.

In goals Joe Lewis got the nod from his fellow Premiership professionals ahead of Celtic’s Craig Gordon and Wes Foderingham at Rangers.


The back four is has Aberdeen’s Shay Logan at right back with Kieran Tierney from Celtic on the other side. Tierney’s Celtic teammate Mikael Lustig moves into central defence to play alongside Liam Lindsay from the Jags.

In the middle of the park Stuart Armstrong and Scott Brown are joined by Aberdeen star Kenny McLean who has mysteriously failed to come to the attention of Scotland boss and former Aberdeen midfielder Gordon Strachan.

Up front are three players shortlisted for PFA Scotland Player of the Year award – Celtic pair Moussa Dembele and Scott Sinclair and Aberdeen wide-man Jonny Hayes.



In the Championship Champions Hibs have four players in that division’s Team of the Year including John McGinn and Jason Cummings.

Alloa and Elgin City are well represented in the two lower divisions.

The teams for the four divisions are listed below.

Premiership Team of the Year

Joe Lewis                     (Aberdeen)

Shay Logan                  (Aberdeen)

Mikael Lustig               (Celtic)

Liam Lindsay               (Partick Thistle)

Kieran Tierney             (Celtic)


Stuart Armstrong        (Celtic)

Scott Brown                (Celtic)

Kenny McLean            (Aberdeen)


Jonny Hayes                (Aberdeen)

Moussa Dembele        (Celtic)

Scott Sinclair               (Celtic)


Championship Team of the Year

Cammy Bell                 (Dundee United)


Nicky Devlin                (Ayr United)

Darren McGregor       (Hibernian)

Thomas O’Ware          (Greenock Morton)

Lewis Stevenson          (Hibernian)


Stephen Mallan          (St Mirren)

John McGinn               (Hibernian)

Ross Forbes                 (Greenock Morton)


Tony Andreu               (Dundee United)

Stephen Dobbie          (Queen of the South)

Jason Cummings         (Hibernian)


League 1 Team of the Year

Neil Parry                    (Alloa Athletic)


Ryan McGeever          (Queen’s Park)

Andy Graham              (Alloa Athletic)

Jonathan Page             (East Fife)

Calum Waters             (Alloa Athletic)


Scott Pittman              (Livingston)

Shaun Byrne                (Livingston)

Jordan Kirkpatrick       (Alloa Athletic)


Andy Ryan                   (Airdrieonians)

Liam Buchanan           (Livingston)

Danny Mullen             (Livingston)


League 2 Team of the Year

Chris Smith                  (Stirling Albion)


Ricky Little                   (Arbroath)

Thomas O’Brien          (Forfar Athletic)

Colin Hamilton            (Arbroath)

Archie MacPhee          (Elgin City)


Brian Cameron            (Elgin City)

Thomas Reilly             (Elgin City)

Bobby Linn                  (Arbroath)


Steven Doris                (Arbroath)

Shane Sutherland        (Elgin City)

Peter MacDonald        (Clyde)



About Author

Loading ...