Manchester City announce Champions League squad Yaya Toure left out of the group stage squad


Manchester City has announced their Champions League group stage squad that will face Barcelona, Borussia Mönchengladbach and Celtic.

New manager Pep Guardiola has left Ivory Coast midfielder Yaya Toure out of the squad due to UEFA rules dictating that of the 25 players, eight must be homegrown and with the loan departure of Joe Hart to Torino, it meant that City could only name 21 players.

Toure played in the second leg of City’s play-off win against Steaua Bucharest at the Etihad Stadium, but now has to sit on the sidelines as he has done in the league.

Manchester City Champions League squad for 2016/2017 group stages:

Claudio Bravo, Willy Caballero; Bacary Sagna, Vincent Kompany, Pablo Zabaleta, Aleksandar Kolarov, Gael Clichy, John Stones, Nicolas Otamendi; Fernando, Raheem Sterling, Ilkay Gundogan, Jesus Navas, Kevin De Bruyne, Fabian Delph, Leroy Sane, David Silva, Fernandinho; Nolito, Sergio Aguero, Kelechi Iheanacho.


About Author


Andy Muirhead is the Editor of Scotzine and the Scottish Football fanzine FITBA. He is the Scottish Football columnist for The Morning Star and has written for a number of other publications including ESPN, Huffington Post UK, BT Life's a Pitch and has had his work featured in the Daily Record, The Scotsman and the Daily Mail.

Loading ...