Celtic skipper Scott Brown has labelled Hearts midfielder Jamie Walker as a ‘cheat’ after he was awarded a penalty in the Scottish champions’ 2-1 win over the Tynecastle side on Sunday afternoon.
James Forrest gave Celtic the lead after just eight minutes, but just after the half hour mark Hearts equalised from the penalty spot after referee John Beaton adjudged Kieran Tierney to have fouled Walker – who converted the spot kick.
Celtic secured the win thanks to new signing Scott Sinclair coming off the bench to convert a pin point cross from Leigh Griffiths.
But despite securing all three points, Brown couldn’t help but criticise Walker for the way he won the penalty.
Speaking to the press after the match, Brown said: “It is brilliant how well he dives. He is really good at that. He should have been in Rio. It was a dive. Cheat. What else can you say?
“The referee came out at half-time and said he got it completely wrong. He made the decision, he hasn’t seen it and the linesman’s not put his flag up.
“It was always a hard game when you come here, a great atmosphere and you expect a hard challenge like they gave us. They tried to play football and mix it up as well.
“Hearts are great at that but sometimes there is no place in football for cheats and that’s been a couple of times here now.”
Despite replays showing there was no contact and with the referee stating he got the penalty decision wrong, Walker was still adamant he felt contact.
He claimed: “I knocked the ball on and I’ve seen him (Tierney) coming out the corner of my eye and felt contact so I went down. At the end of the day, I am not the referee, I don’t give the decisions.”
What are your views on the Walker penalty decision?