Top 50 Greatest Scottish Footballers: Keep nominating!



The nominations for Scotzine’s Top 50 Scottish footballers are in, but there is still time to nominate your chosen players though, the deadline is December 31st.

Once all nominations are in, we will open up the voting to our readers and followers to choose the Top 50 Greatest Scottish footballers of all time. And we will be looking for contributors to help produce a bio of each of the Top 50!

Nominees to date: [In no particular order]

Denis Law, Billy Bremner, Jimmy Johnstone, Jim Baxter, Kenny Dalglish, Jim Leighton, Gordon Smith [Hibs], Dave MacKay [Hearts], Danny McGrain, Alex McLeish.

Alan Hansen, Paul McStay, Bobby Lennox, Graeme Souness, John Collins, John Greig, Pat Stannton [Hibs], Davie Cooper, Archie Gemmill, Lawrie Reilly.

Eddie Turnbull, John Robertson [Hearts], Willie Bauld [Hearts], Alfie Conn, Jimmy Wardhaugh [Hearts], Tommy Walker [Hearts], Gordon Strachan, Joe Jordan, Colin Hendry.

Steve Archibald, Ally McCoist, Gordon McQueen, Jim McCalliog, Willie Henderson, Tony Fitzpatrick, Richard Gough, Andy Goram, Willie Miller, John Cumming [Hearts].

Sandy Jardine, Jim Cruickshank, Alex Young, Donald Ford, Paul Lambert, Mark McGhee, James McFadden, Willie Woodburn, Jimmy McGrory, Hughie Gallacher.

Alan Morton, Alex James, Charles Campbell, George Young, John White, Willie Waddell, Willie Ormond, Willie Henderson, Tommy Gemmell, John Robertson [Nottingham Forest].

Tommy Walker, Billy Steel, Eric Caldow, Jimmy Cowan, John Thomson, Billy Liddell, Derek Johnstone, Bobby Evans, Ian St.John, Davie Meiklejohn.

Alan Gilzean, Bertie Auld, Jimmy Delaney, Mo Johnston, David Narey, Paul Sturrock, Murdo MacLeod, Tommy Burns, Bobby Johnstone, Paddy Crerand.

Ronnie Simpson, Frank McLintock, Andrew Watson, Bob McPhail, Alan Rough, Martin Buchan, Eddie Gray, Peter Lorimer, Tommy Docherty, John Wark.

Tom Boyd, David Weir, Christian Dailly, Gary McAllister, Maurice Malpas, Kevin Gallacher, Asa Hartford, Gordon Durie, Brian McClair, Pat Nevin.

David Hay, Steve Nicol, Jim Bett, Billy Dodds, Don Hutchison, Darren Fletcher, Peter Latchford, Jim Gallacher, Bobby Clark, Peter McCloy.

Ally Maxwell, Allan McGregor, Campbell Money, Colin Stein, Peter Weir, Eoin Jess, Neil Simpson, Stewart McKimmie, Eric Black, Stuart Kennedy (Aberdeen).

Joe Harper, Frank McDougall, Charlie Nicholas, Andy Gray.

Send in your nominees via email to editor@scotzine.com with subject header Top 50 nominations or tweet them to @scotzine_editor up until December 31st.

The list above was created from all the players nominated by our readers and followers.


About Author


Andy Muirhead is the Editor of Scotzine and the Scottish Football fanzine FITBA. He is the Scottish Football columnist for The Morning Star and has written for a number of other publications including ESPN, Huffington Post UK, BT Life's a Pitch and has had his work featured in the Daily Record, The Scotsman and the Daily Mail.

Loading ...