Glasgow City seeded in last 32 UEFA Women’s Champions League draw

Pic: Mirko Kappes

Pic: Mirko Kappes

The last 32 of the UEFA Women’s Champions League was confirmed yesterday after the final qualifying group games concluded, now that the line up has been completed, UEFA have announced the seedings for the competition.

Scottish champions Glasgow City who were unbeaten in their qualifying group games have been seeded 14th and will miss the likes of defending champions VfL Wolfsburg, Olympique Lyonnais, 1.FFC Turbine Potsdam and Arsenal Ladies.

However, Eddie Wolecki Black’s side could still face a number of quality teams in the unseeded pot, including Swedish champions Tyresö FF and FC Barcelona.

The draw for the last 32 will take place at UEFA headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland on the 5th September. City will be away for the first leg, with the match scheduled on either 9th or 10th of October. The home leg will be at Petershill Park and will take place on the evening of the 17th October.

Commenting City’s seeding, Head Coach Eddie Wolecki Black said: “We were well aware of the seeding opportunity for us before we flew out to Holland. However we were also aware of the difficulty in progressing to the last 32. It’s fair to say this was a tough as it gets and for the second season running we drew the top ranked teams in pots two and three. It speaks volumes for the team that we managed to keep three clean sheets and scored 18 goals in the process. Therefore it is with all clarity that I state that we fully deserve to be seeded this time around. Of course it is no guarantee of progression as there are some teams in the lower half that are more than capable of beating many of the top 16 seeds. But having said that, we are delighted to be in at number 14 and it is to the credit of everyone who has played for this club over the past few seasons.”

Pot 1 (seeded teams):

1 – VfL Wolfsburg (GER) *Title holder
2 – Olympique Lyonnais (FRA)
3 – 1.FFC Turbine Potsdam (GER)
4 – Arsenal Ladies (ENG)
5 – FC Rossiyanka (RUS)
6 – Torres (ITA)
7 – Brøndby IF (DEN)
8 – FCR Malmö (SWE)
9 – AC Sparta Praha (CZE)
10 – Fortuna Hjørring (DEN)
11 – Paris Saint-Germain (FRA)
12 – NÖSV Neulengbach (AUT)
13 – Zorky (RUS)
14 – Glasgow City LFC (SCO)
15 – Birmingham City Ladies FC (ENG)
16 – RTP Unia Racibórz (POL)

Pot 2 (unseeded teams):

17 – Tyresö FF (SWE)
18 – FC Zürich (SUI)
19 – R. Standard de Liège (BEL)
20 – U.P.C. Tavagnacco (ITA)
21 – Apollon Limassol LFC (CYP)
23 – MTK Hungária FC (HUN)
24 – FC Barcelona (ESP)
25 – LSK Kvinner FK (NOR)
26 – PK-35 Vantaa (FIN)
27 – Thór/KA (ISL)
28 – ASV Simacek Spratzern (AUT)
29 – Spartak Subotica (SRB)
30 – FC Twente (NED)
31 – Pärnu JK (EST)
32 – Konak Belediyespor (TUR)


About Author


Andy Muirhead is the Editor of Scotzine and the Scottish Football fanzine FITBA. He is the Scottish Football columnist for The Morning Star and has written for a number of other publications including ESPN, Huffington Post UK, BT Life's a Pitch and has had his work featured in the Daily Record, The Scotsman and the Daily Mail.

Loading ...