SPL Awards Winners for 2010/2011: Izaguirre and Goodwillie honoured again


Celtic full back Emilio Izaguirre and Dundee United striker David Goodwillie have secure two more honours for their performances this season.

Honduran international Izaguirre was named as the SPL Player of the Year, while Scottish International Goodwillie was named as the League’s Young Player of the Year.

The duo picked up the PFA Scotland awards for the same categories and it is now double joy for them.

Former Killie manager Mixu Paatelainen, picked up manager of the season for what he did at the Rugby Park side before leaving for the Finnish national job. With a limited squad, he brought attractive football to Ayrshire which sent them into the top half of the league.

Goal of the season went to Hibernian’s Derek Riordan for his chip over Celtic keeper Fraser Forster at a game between the two sides in September 2010.

The full list of winners:

Manager of the season – Mixu Paatelainen, Kilmarnock

Player of the season – Emilio Izaguirre, Celtic

Young player of the season – David Goodwillie, Dundee United

Goal of the season – Derek Riordan, Hibernian

Save of the season – Marian Kello, Hearts

Under-19 League Player of the Season – Jason Holt, Hearts

Best club media relations – Motherwell

Best community initiative – St Mirren

SPL family champions – Rangers


About Author


Andy Muirhead is the Editor of Scotzine and the Scottish Football fanzine FITBA. He is the Scottish Football columnist for The Morning Star and has written for a number of other publications including ESPN, Huffington Post UK, BT Life's a Pitch and has had his work featured in the Daily Record, The Scotsman and the Daily Mail.

Loading ...