Falkirk release no fewer than 18!


Whilst many supporters were hoping for the release of their manager Falkirk have, instead decided to release 18of their playing staff! Partly due to the financial constraints that are believed to have led the Board to give a year’s extension to manager Stephen Pressley and partly due to the footballing future that Pressley sees for the Bairns. Included are a number of Falkirk Academy graduates and in a move many in the youth game will see as the first backward move, they have been released to find their futures elsewhere.

Included in the number going are goalkeepers, Michael Andrews, Jamie Barclay and Robert  Olejnik; Defenders Brian Mclean – full Northern Ireland international, Chris Mitchell, Mehdi Khalis, James Bloom, Euen Grant and Keiran Stallard; Midfielders Craig McLeish, current club captain Burton O’Brien; Forwards and firm fan’s favourites – Pedro Moutinho and Tam McManus alongside Carl Finnigan. On top of First team squad members the following under 19s have also been released – Scott Davidson, Grant Santi, Joseph McCafferty and Lewis Bonar.

Once again youth bearing the brunt as the an SFL1 side starts the process of staying in the top of that division… Bairns fans will hope it’s a master plan…


About Author

A lifelong supporter, since seeing Alex Ferguson play for them, of Ayr United he now contributes here, at KickTalk and Ringside Reports for things sporty. He is also a theatrical type and an educationalist. As an Ayr fan he clearly can explain the inexplicable, place fanatical faith in the most fantastic of dreams and deal with dark periods of depression and disappointment. Perfect as a teacher..

Loading ...