Scotland’s Player of the Year Award Nominees announced


The nominees for Scotland’s Player of the Year have been announced and they are Kilmarnock’s Alexei Eremenko,Rangers’ Steven Naismith and Celtic duo Gary Hooper and Emilio Izaguirre.

In the Young Player of the Year category, Gary Hooper is also nominated, as is Dundee United’s David Goodwillie, Aberdeen’s Chris Maguire and Hearts’ David Templeton.

Last Year Rangers duo Steven Davis and Danny Wilson won last season’s SPL Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year respectively.

SPFA Chief Fraser Wishart said, “There is no greater honour in football than to be voted the best player in your country by your peers. This is the top award for players.”

In the First Division category, Dundee players Gary Harkins and Sean Higgins have been nominated, as well as John Baird of Raith Rovers and Dunfermline’s Andy Kirk.

Robert Linn of East Fife, Rory McAllister of Brechin, Ayr United’s Mark Roberts and Iain Russell of Livingston are the Second Division nominees.

And, the Division Three nominees are Stranraer duo Scott Agnew and Armand One, Ricky Little of Queens Park and Arbroath’s Gavin Swankie.

The winner of each award will be announced on Sunday, 1 May.

Source: BBC Football


About Author


Andy Muirhead is the Editor of Scotzine and the Scottish Football fanzine FITBA. He is the Scottish Football columnist for The Morning Star and has written for a number of other publications including ESPN, Huffington Post UK, BT Life's a Pitch and has had his work featured in the Daily Record, The Scotsman and the Daily Mail.

Loading ...